Zombie Invasion at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster: Honest Guide

Crowd waits in haze and stage lights at Zombie Invasion at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster in Pigeon Forge

Zombie Invasion at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster is a new-for-2026 nighttime haunted event in Pigeon Forge that turns the mountain coaster into a scripted military-evacuation ride through fog, strobes, and live zombie actors, running select nights from September 11 through October 31, 2026, with adult tickets at $24.99.

Key Takeaways

  • Zombie Invasion runs on 36 select nights between September 11 and October 31, 2026, replacing the venue’s previous Coast & Goblins Halloween event.
  • The event line opens at 6:30 p.m., the first sled dispatches at 7:30 p.m., and ticket sales continue until 11:00 p.m.
  • Adult admission is $24.99 and child admission is $15.99, sold separately from regular daytime coaster ride tickets.
  • Tennessee residents can get $18.99 adult / $9.99 child pricing on September 15, 22, and 29, 2026, but only at the ticket window with valid Tennessee photo ID.
  • Rocky Top Mountain Coaster markets the ride as the “longest haunted coaster experience in the world,” a claim tied to a stated ride length of more than nine minutes rather than independently verified.
  • The attraction sits at 2940 Veterans Blvd. in Pigeon Forge, directly across from Dollywood, making it an easy add-on to a Smoky Mountain fall trip.

If you’re planning a fall trip to the Smokies in 2026, there’s a decent chance you’ve already seen the ads: soldiers, fog machines, a coaster sled billed as an “evacuation vehicle.” Zombie Invasion at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster is Pigeon Forge’s newest after-dark attraction, and it’s drawing curiosity from thrill-seekers and skeptics alike.

This guide breaks down what the operator’s own marketing says, what independent event listings confirm, and where the gaps are, things like exact rider requirements, realistic wait times, and whether the “world’s longest haunted coaster” claim holds up to scrutiny. We manage cabins throughout the Pigeon Forge and Sevierville corridor at Hemlock Hills Cabin Rentals, so we’ve watched this event get built and promoted over the 2026 season from just down the road.

Whether you’re weighing this against other Pigeon Forge haunts or just want to know if it’s worth the ticket price, here’s the honest rundown, dates, pricing, the storyline, and what nobody’s telling you about the wait.

What Is Zombie Invasion at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster?

Zombie Invasion is a scripted, live-actor haunted event layered onto the existing Rocky Top Mountain Coaster ride in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee. Guests board coaster sleds framed as evacuation vehicles fleeing a fictional military outbreak, riding through fog, strobing lights, and actors playing soldiers and zombies along the mountainside track.

The event is new for 2026 and specifically replaces Rocky Top’s previous Halloween program, Coast & Goblins. According to the operator’s own page and coverage from the Haunted Attraction Network, the venue rebuilt the entire seasonal concept around a military-outbreak narrative rather than a generic haunted-house theme.

Guests first pass through a staged army base complete with soldiers and emergency broadcast audio before boarding the actual coaster sled. From there, the ride itself becomes the attraction: darkness, sudden scares, and simulated weapon props line the mountainside as the sled winds through curves and dips at speed. It’s less a haunted house you walk through and more a haunted ride you’re strapped into.

When Does Zombie Invasion Run in 2026?

Zombie Invasion operates on 36 select nights between September 11 and October 31, 2026, following a specific weekly pattern rather than running every single night. September dates cluster around Fridays, Saturdays, and Tuesdays, while October runs nearly nightly with a handful of exceptions.

Specifically, the September 2026 schedule includes September 11, 12, 15, 18, 19, 22, 25, 26, and 29. October is far more consistent: the event runs nightly from October 1 through October 18, then continues on October 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 29, 30, and 31. It does not operate on October 19, 21, 26, or 28, so double-check your calendar before building an itinerary around a specific date.

As a result, if you’re visiting during a random midweek stretch in early October, you’re in luck, that’s the most consistent window. If your trip falls in September, you’ll need to match your dates to the Tuesday/Friday/Saturday pattern or you’ll show up to a dark ticket booth.

Month Operating Nights Pattern
September 2026 11, 12, 15, 18, 19, 22, 25, 26, 29 Fridays, Saturdays, and Tuesdays
October 1-18, 2026 Every night Nightly, no exceptions
October 20-31, 2026 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 29, 30, 31 Skips the 19th, 21st, 26th, and 28th
Haunted Mountain Roller Coaster – Coast and Goblins – Rocky Top Coaster – Pigeon Forge, TN

What Time Does the Event Open and How Late Does It Run?

The Zombie Invasion line opens at 6:30 p.m. on event nights, with the first coaster sled dispatching at 7:30 p.m. Event ticket sales continue until 11:00 p.m., and Rocky Top Mountain Coaster keeps running until every ticketed guest in line has completed the ride, even past that cutoff.

Regular daytime coaster operations start at 10:00 a.m. year-round. On nights when Zombie Invasion is scheduled, daytime riding has a variable cutoff, often around 6:00 p.m., to allow time for the crew to reset the mountain for the evening event. On non-event days, standard operating hours run from 10:00 a.m. until close, with no interruption.

If you’re combining a daytime coaster ride with the evening haunt, plan your day around that afternoon cutoff. Arriving at 5:30 p.m. expecting a casual daytime ride on an event night could mean you’ve already missed the window.

How Much Do Zombie Invasion Tickets Cost?

Zombie Invasion admission is priced separately from regular Rocky Top Mountain Coaster rides, with online tickets listed at $24.99 for adults and $15.99 for children. This is a standalone event ticket, not an add-on or upgrade to a daytime ride pass.

Importantly, several common discount methods do not apply here. Regular ride wristbands, rain checks, re-ride passes, third-party ticket vendors, coupons, and Smoky Mountain Park Hopper Passes are all explicitly excluded from Zombie Invasion admission. If you’re used to stacking discounts across Pigeon Forge attractions, this one doesn’t play along.

Tennessee residents get a specific break: $18.99 for adults and $9.99 for children on three dates only, September 15, 22, and 29, 2026. That discount is available exclusively at the ticket window, not online, and requires proof of residency. Guests age 16 or older need a valid Tennessee photo ID. Kids 15 and under without ID must be accompanied by a parent or guardian who has one.

Ticket Type Adult Price Child Price Notes
Standard online admission $24.99 $15.99 Sold online in advance
Tennessee resident discount $18.99 $9.99 Window only; Sept 15, 22, 29 only; valid TN ID required

Is There a Haunted Mountain Coaster in Pigeon Forge?

Yes. Rocky Top Mountain Coaster is currently the only mountain coaster in Pigeon Forge running a full haunted, live-actor overlay event, and Zombie Invasion is that program for the 2026 season. The attraction sits at 2940 Veterans Blvd., described by the Pigeon Forge Chamber of Commerce listing as directly across from Dollywood.

This is worth noting because Pigeon Forge has other haunted attractions, walk-through experiences like Outbreak: Dread the Undead and Castle of Chaos among them, but none of those combine a scare experience with an actual coaster ride down a mountainside. Zombie Invasion is specifically a ride-based haunt, not a walk-through haunted house, which changes the experience considerably: you’re moving fast through the scares rather than walking slowly past them.

Is the Smoky Mountain Alpine Coaster Scary, and How Does It Compare to Zombie Invasion?

The regular daytime Rocky Top Mountain Coaster ride is a family-friendly alpine coaster with speed control levers, curves, and dips, generally not designed to be scary on its own. Zombie Invasion transforms that same physical track into a nighttime scare experience by adding darkness, actors, fog, and sound design without altering the underlying mechanics of the ride.

In other words, the coaster’s actual speed, dips, and turns during the day are the same ones used at night. What changes is everything around it: lighting drops to near-total darkness in wooded sections, strobe lights simulate gunfire and chaos, and costumed actors position themselves along blind curves. If you’ve ridden the daytime version and found it mild, don’t assume Zombie Invasion will feel the same. The physical ride is identical, but the sensory environment is engineered specifically to startle.

Rustic master bedroom with wooden bed frame, skylights, and mountain views at Hemlock Hills Cabin Rentals in Pigeon Forge
A bright and spacious master bedroom featuring a rustic wooden bed frame with decorative storage, cream-colored walls, and skylights providing natural light. The room includes matching wooden nightstands with brass lamps, a brown leather ottoman at the foot of the bed, and windows with wooden frames offering scenic mountain views. · Ole Smoky Retreat

What Is the Haunted Attraction Storyline in Pigeon Forge This Year?

The Zombie Invasion storyline places riders as civilians caught in a fictional military evacuation of the Smoky Mountains. Before boarding, guests wait in a staged army base environment complete with soldiers in costume and looping emergency broadcast audio, setting up the premise that the coaster sled itself is an evacuation vehicle.

Once the ride begins, the sled becomes the vehicle carrying “survivors” down the mountain, passing zombies, more soldiers, and simulated combat environments along the track. According to MyPigeonForge.com’s fall guide, the experience is framed as an after-dark option better suited to adults or older kids rather than young children, given the intensity of the theming.

This narrative structure is what separates Zombie Invasion from a generic “haunted trail” concept. Instead of walking past isolated scare actors, you’re moving through a continuous, timed sequence where the pacing of the ride itself, speed changes, sudden dips, dictates when and how scares land.

What Is the Haunted Attraction in Pigeon Forge Known For, and Is the “Longest” Claim Accurate?

Rocky Top Mountain Coaster markets Zombie Invasion as the “longest haunted coaster experience in the world,” a claim based on the coaster’s stated ride time of more than nine minutes. This is the operator’s own promotional framing rather than a figure independently verified by a third-party ranking body, awards organization, or Guinness-style record keeper.

To be clear: this doesn’t mean the claim is false, it likely reflects that few if any other coasters combine a haunted overlay with a ride this long. But no fetched competitor page or news source independently confirms the superlative. If you’re the type of traveler who wants receipts before booking around a “world’s longest” claim, treat it as marketing language backed by a real, specific ride-duration figure, not as an externally audited record.

For comparison, most walk-through haunted houses in Pigeon Forge run 20-40 minutes at a walking pace but don’t involve a moving vehicle at all. A nine-plus minute coaster ride through a themed scare environment is a genuinely different format, whether or not it holds an official record.

How Long Does It Take to Ride the Rocky Top Mountain Coaster During Zombie Invasion?

The coaster portion of Zombie Invasion runs more than nine minutes according to the operator, though your total time on-site will run considerably longer once you factor in the pre-ride staging area and any line wait. Budget at least 45 minutes to an hour for the full experience on a moderately busy night, longer on weekends in October.

Specifically, your visit breaks into three phases: entering the staged army base and waiting for your turn (variable, could be 15 minutes or over an hour depending on the night), boarding and completing the themed ride (roughly nine-plus minutes), and exiting through whatever queue exists for photos or merchandise. None of the available operator or listing pages publish official average wait times, so treat any specific minute estimate you see elsewhere with skepticism unless it’s from a guest who visited that exact week.

What Should You Know Before Riding: Sensory Warnings and Rider Considerations

Zombie Invasion includes strobing lights, fog machines, loud sounds, simulated weapon props, sustained darkness, and sudden scare moments, all combined with the coaster’s existing sudden dips and high-speed curves. This combination makes the event unsuitable for guests sensitive to strobe lighting, loud abrupt noises, or intense darkness.

The available research does not specify exact height, weight, or age restrictions for Zombie Invasion beyond noting that standard Rocky Top Mountain Coaster rider requirements and safety rules remain in force for the event. Because coaster sleds typically have their own manufacturer-set height and weight guidelines separate from the haunted overlay, we’d recommend confirming exact rider requirements directly with Rocky Top Mountain Coaster’s official site or by phone at (865) 453-0033 before you build your evening around it, especially if you’re traveling with younger children or anyone with a pacemaker or photosensitive epilepsy.

The Pigeon Forge Chamber of Commerce business listing identifies Rocky Top Mountain Coaster as wheelchair accessible, though it’s not specified whether that designation covers riding the coaster itself or only applies to portions of the general venue grounds, so it’s worth a direct call if accessibility is a deciding factor for your group.

What’s the Best Time to Arrive for the Darkest, Most Intense Experience?

Rocky Top Mountain Coaster’s official Zombie Invasion page recommends riding at least 30 minutes after sunset for the darkest possible experience. Guests who prefer a slightly less intense, more visible ride are advised to arrive right when the event line opens at 6:30 p.m., before full darkness sets in.

This creates a genuine trade-off worth thinking through before you go. Arriving at line-opening means shorter initial darkness but likely a longer overall wait since you’re at the front of the earliest crowd. Arriving 30-plus minutes after sunset, generally 7:30-8:30 p.m. depending on the month, delivers maximum scare value but may mean joining a line that’s already built up from the evening rush. In our experience watching seasonal Pigeon Forge attractions fill up, mid-week nights (the Tuesday dates on the September calendar, for example) tend to draw noticeably smaller crowds than weekend dates, so if your travel dates are flexible, a Tuesday visit paired with an after-sunset arrival is probably your best combination of darkness and shorter wait.

Since sunset shifts through the fall season, roughly 7:15 p.m. in mid-September down to around 6:15 p.m. by late October, “30 minutes after sunset” means a later arrival time earlier in the run and an earlier one as the season progresses toward Halloween.

Practical Guidance: What to Bring, What to Skip, and Common Mistakes

Planning a Zombie Invasion visit well means treating it as a distinct, separately ticketed event rather than an add-on to a regular Pigeon Forge day. Buy tickets online in advance when possible, confirm your date matches the operating calendar above, and don’t assume any daytime pass, coupon, or third-party discount will work at the gate.

  1. Confirm your date against the calendar first. September’s Tuesday/Friday/Saturday pattern trips up more visitors than any other detail, don’t assume a random Wednesday in September is an event night.
  2. Don’t bring regular ride wristbands or coupons expecting a discount. Zombie Invasion tickets are entirely separate and standard discounts don’t apply.
  3. Tennessee residents should bring photo ID and buy at the window, not online, for the three discounted dates. Buying online in advance forfeits the resident rate.
  4. Dress for a cool mountain evening. September and October nights in Pigeon Forge can drop into the 50s after sunset, and you’ll be sitting in an open coaster sled.
  5. Skip it if you’re prone to motion sickness combined with sensory overload. Combining strobing lights, darkness, and coaster dips is a lot more intense than either element alone.
  6. Call ahead if accessibility or specific rider requirements are a concern. The published materials don’t spell out every detail, and a quick call saves a wasted trip.

A common mistake we hear about from guests staying in our Pigeon Forge and Sevierville cabins: assuming the daytime coaster and the nighttime Zombie Invasion are the same ticket. They are not. Budget separately for each if you want to do both in one visit.

Luxurious primary bedroom with king bed and mountain views in Pigeon Forge log cabin
A luxurious primary bedroom in a modern log cabin featuring a king bed with white linens and green accent pillows, knotty pine walls, vaulted ceilings with recessed lighting, and a flat-screen TV mounted above a black dresser. The room offers stunning views of forested mountains through large windows and includes framed landscape artwork. · Smoky Mountain Sequoia

Where Should You Stay Near Rocky Top Mountain Coaster?

Rocky Top Mountain Coaster sits on Veterans Blvd. in Pigeon Forge, directly across from Dollywood, which makes cabins in the immediate Pigeon Forge and Sevierville corridor the most convenient home base for a Zombie Invasion night. Staying nearby means you’re not driving back through Parkway traffic at 9 or 10 p.m. after an evening event.

Smoky Mountain Sequoia, a 3-bedroom, 5-bathroom cabin sleeping up to 10 guests, sits roughly 18 minutes from Dollywood and its neighboring attractions along the Pigeon Forge Parkway, close enough that an evening haunt doesn’t eat your whole night. Its private indoor heated pool and game room with Big Buck Hunter and Golden Tee give kids something to burn off energy on before or after a scarier outing.

For groups splitting a family with younger kids skipping the haunt from teens and adults who want in, Wandering Oak is about 4 miles from Dollywood, with a lower-level entertainment room and a new hot tub deck with a gas fire pit, a good landing spot for warming back up after a cool October evening on an open coaster sled. And if your trip centers on Pigeon Forge attractions generally rather than one single event, Pigeon Perch puts you five minutes from both Dollywood and The Island in Pigeon Forge, with a gaming loft and bubbling hot tub that make a good return spot after dark.

How Does Zombie Invasion Fit Into a Fall Trip to the Smokies?

Zombie Invasion works well as a single evening activity within a broader multi-day fall trip to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, and Sevierville, rather than as a full-day destination on its own. Sevier County generated $3.93 billion in direct visitor spending in 2026, ranking third among Tennessee’s 95 counties, according to the Tennessee Department of Tourist Development, and fall foliage season remains one of the region’s busiest windows.

Since Great Smoky Mountains National Park drew 12.2 million visitors in 2026 according to National Park Service data, and Rocky Top Mountain Coaster sits just minutes from the park’s Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge entrances, it’s easy to build a day around hiking or scenic drives before heading to an evening haunt. If you’re already planning fall activities, our Smoky Mountain Vacation Planner covers seasonal timing for the broader trip, while our guide to Pigeon Forge cabins breaks down neighborhood options if Veterans Blvd. proximity matters most to your group.

Frequently Asked Questions

How far is Pigeon Forge from Gatlinburg?

Pigeon Forge sits roughly 6-9 miles from downtown Gatlinburg, typically a 15-20 minute drive depending on traffic along the Parkway. Both cities connect directly, so it’s common to stay in one and visit attractions in both during the same trip.

How far is Gatlinburg from Pigeon Forge?

The distance runs the same either direction, about 6-9 miles and 15-20 minutes by car. Traffic along Highway 441 can extend that during peak summer and fall weekends, so budget extra time on Friday and Saturday evenings.

How far is Sevierville from Pigeon Forge?

Sevierville is generally 4-8 miles from Pigeon Forge depending on which part of each city you’re comparing, roughly a 10-15 minute drive. Many Hemlock Hills Cabin Rentals properties in Sevierville, including Forest Creek Retreat, sit within this easy commuting distance to Rocky Top Mountain Coaster.

Is there a haunted mountain coaster in Pigeon Forge?

Yes, Rocky Top Mountain Coaster runs Zombie Invasion, a haunted overlay event on its existing alpine coaster track, on select nights from September 11 through October 31, 2026. It’s currently the only mountain coaster in the area combining a haunted theme with an actual ride experience rather than a walk-through format.

Is the Smoky Mountain Alpine Coaster scary?

The regular daytime ride at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster is family-friendly and not designed to scare riders. During Zombie Invasion event nights, the same physical track becomes significantly more intense through added darkness, strobe lighting, fog, and live zombie and soldier actors.

What is the haunted attraction in Pigeon Forge called?

The 2026 haunted event at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster is called Zombie Invasion, and it replaces the venue’s previous Halloween program, Coast & Goblins. Pigeon Forge also has separate walk-through haunts like Outbreak: Dread the Undead and Castle of Chaos, but those don’t involve a coaster ride.

How long does it take to ride the Rocky Top Mountain Coaster during Zombie Invasion?

The coaster ride itself runs more than nine minutes according to the operator, though total time on-site including the staged pre-ride army base and any wait in line will run considerably longer, often 45 minutes to an hour on a moderately busy night.

Does Zombie Invasion accept regular Rocky Top Mountain Coaster ride tickets or coupons?

No. Zombie Invasion requires its own separate admission ticket, and regular ride wristbands, rain checks, re-rides, third-party tickets, coupons, and Smoky Mountain Park Hopper Passes are all explicitly excluded. Purchase Zombie Invasion tickets specifically for the event, either online or at the ticket window.

The Bottom Line on Zombie Invasion at Rocky Top Mountain Coaster

Zombie Invasion gives Pigeon Forge a genuinely different kind of haunted attraction, one where the scares come at coaster speed rather than a slow walk-through pace, across 36 nights between September 11 and October 31, 2026. The $24.99 adult ticket buys a nine-plus-minute themed ride with live actors, fog, and darkness, separate from any daytime coaster pass you might already own.

If darkness and intensity matter most to you, plan to arrive 30 minutes past sunset. If a shorter wait matters more, show up right at the 6:30 p.m. line opening instead. Either way, confirm your travel dates against the operating calendar before you build an evening around it, since the September schedule skips more nights than it runs.

As Pigeon Forge’s fall event lineup continues to grow into 2026 and beyond, Zombie Invasion looks like a strong addition to an already-busy foliage season for Sevier County’s tourism economy.

Smoky Mountain Serenity Lodge near Rocky Top Mountain Coaster Pigeon Forge fall haunted event
A stunning modern two-story lodge exterior photographed at twilight, featuring gray stone brick facade, warm ambient lighting throughout, black metal railings, and large glass doors and windows that illuminate the interior with golden light. The contemporary architecture showcases a covered porch and upper deck area surrounded by mature trees and landscaping. · Smoky Mountain Serenity Lodge

If you’re building a longer Smoky Mountain trip around a Zombie Invasion night, Smoky Mountain Serenity Lodge near Sevierville puts you within easy reach of both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, with a rooftop hot tub and cedar sauna that make a warm landing spot after a cool October night on an open coaster sled. Check availability at Smoky Mountain Serenity Lodge.

Content powered by inkSTR.co

Related Post